Who is eligible?

Equity loans are available to first time buyers as well as homeowners looking to move. The home you want to buy must be newly built with a price tag of up to £600,000.

You won’t be able to sublet this home or enter a part exchange deal on your old home. You must not own any other property at the time you buy your new home with a Help to Buy: Equity Loan.

Budget 2018 announced that the Help to Buy scheme would be coming to an end in March 2023. A new version of the Help to Buy scheme will operate from 1 April 2021 until 31 March 2023 which introduces changes to ensure the scheme is better targeted towards those who most need support to achieve home ownership. The key changes are:

  • The scheme will only be available for first time buyers, defined as those who haven’t previously owned or purchased property.
  • The scheme will introduce regional property price caps based on local markets, which will set the maximum price of a new build home that can be bought with Help to Buy in any region.

The regional caps are set out in table below:

Region Price cap for properties eligible for Help to Buy Equity Loan scheme from April 2021 to March 2023
North East £186,100
North West £224,400
Yorkshire and The Humber £228,100
East Midlands £261,900
West Midlands £255,600
East of England £407,400
London £600,000
South East £437,600
South West £349,000


To allow purchasers to buy their new homes from 1 April 2021 we anticipate that they will be able to make reservations from this autumn. Customers can find more detail about available properties in their area and how the scheme operates via their local Help to Buy agent. Further details can be obtained from your local Help to Buy agent 

Until the new scheme is introduced customers will continue to be able to purchase homes through the current Help to Buy scheme unaffected.  However, all homes purchased under the current scheme will need to reach legal completion by 31 March 2021. This will influence when a builder will close for reservations using the scheme, therefore we recommend that you factor this into your plans and enquiries.

This scheme is available in England only. The Scottish Government, Welsh Government and Northern Ireland run similar schemes – check out their websites.